Setting up the Blog

I found my experience with setting up my wordpress blog to be relatively easy. I like the fact that I am given the option of choosing numerous “themes”; I do have a tumblr that was created for another class, but I did not really take a look at their options on themes to be chosen, so I don’t really know which is the better option. The one thing that does annoy me about wordpress is that you must upgrade to Pro in order to change your stylesheet and texts. One way in which perhaps Aaron (the professor) could make the blog setting up process easier to have videos of how to set up a wordpress blog.

I’m not sure what I will put on this blog, but some things that come to mind are sports, video games, and anything interesting I find online.

This is an image of the Giants’ Super Bowl Parade taken in New York City.

A box art of one of the games I am currently playing and doing a capstone project on, Starcraft II.

8 thoughts on “Setting up the Blog

  1. Blog looks great, Steve! I really like the background you choose. 3 things: 1)I did make tutorial videos to help you with WordPress, they are in eCollege. There will be tutorials for all of the hands-on projects in this class. 2) If you want to unlock more options WP, you can learn to host your own site via WordPress.org. That gives you total control over everything that is your blog. 3) I’d love to hear more about your capstone project, please explain it to me when you have a chance. Video game studies is my field, so I’m all about it!

    • Thanks Aaron, sorry I didn’t realize that you did post videos on how to set up the blogs, I didn’t actually take a look at them since you went over it in class and I pretty much just messed around with wordpress and figured it out on my own. If I host my own wordpress page, I have to pay for that correct? I will keep you update on my capstone project, I actually had my professor recommend me to ask you for the research.

  2. I love the giants parade picture I’m a huge fan as well. I like how you have two different themes when you go from your main page to the comment page. I would say one improvement you could make is talk more in your blog or posts I should say, and describe in more detail what is going on in your life, but overall great work.

  3. Hello Steve! I love your blog because you’re also a Stacraft II-playing Giants fan like me! I love to see people have the same interests me and like Aaron, I am also very interested in the capstone project you are doing with Starcraft II. Maybe update us on the project as you do it? I would love to hear more about it. Also I really like the overall feel of the blog and the setup you have. It seems like you have no problem with computers or anything with blogging. Hope to see more’

  4. Hey Steve. Nice Blog. By the way you posted a Giants parade picture here and asked if anyone went to the parade on Facebook I believe. Did you go? Also Nice Background image even though it sort of just cuts off for me on my desktop. I guess thats a culprit of the lack of access to css and customization options you get without paying for them. Overall I like the style of your blog and I’m sure it would have been better if you had been afforded the options you would have liked. Much like I wish I could have gotten what I wanted out of my blog. Hey Steve. Nice Blog. By the way you posted a Giants parade picture here and asked if anyone went to the parade on Facebook I believe. Did you go? Also Nice Background image even though it sort of just cuts off for me on my desktop. I guess thats a culprit of the lack of access to css and customization options you get without paying for them. Also noticed the side bar is missing on your blog or not activated?

    • Yeah, I did post about the Giants parade but unfortunately nobody I knew could go with me to the parade so I just didn’t go 😦 The background looks fine for me, the sidebar looks fine for me as well, I think it just disappears when you reply to a comment.

Leave a Reply

